Jackie, Dayo and Alexander React to Gary Ross Leaving Catching Fire


Jacqueline Emerson talked with Celebuzz, and all three tributes Jackie, Dayo Okeniyi and Alexander Ludwig spoke with E! Online at last night’s 13th Anniversary Party for Nylon Magazine, about Gary Ross leaving The Hunger Games franchise. The stars were shocked and saddened by the news.

Alexander Ludwig with E!:

“One thing about Gary is, he can do everyone’s job better than you can… It’s an honor working with such a talented director. He is an unbelievable guy and an actor’s director, which is amazing…Nobody could really do what Gary did. I honestly believe that 100 percent.”

Dayo Okeniyi with E!:

“I’m heartbroken. He was the perfect person for me for the first movie, because he has this great ability to do the indie thing with the blockbuster thing and I think everybody wants that combination.”

While Okeniyi said he hopes “somehow in the cosmos it works out [that Ross] can do the second movie,” he also had a couple of suggestions for a new director.

“I’d like to see a David Fincher Catching Fire or Darren Aronofsky,” he said. “I think he’d be amazing for the second movie. Be a little bit edgier, darker.”

Jacqueline Emerson with E!, who broke the news to the actress:

“That makes me so sad,” she said. “I’m sorry, I can’t move on yet. I’m still in mourning. I don’t know that anyone else could bring it to life the way that he did.”

Jackie also talked with Celebuzz:

“I just heard about it today, and I am so upset! I’m just so sad,” she admitted at at Nylon Magazine’s Anniversary party at Smashbox Studios in Los Angeles on Tuesday night. ”He’s such a talented director, and he really helped us connect with our characters in ways that I never have before. He had a method for working with everybody.”

The actress added, “I mean for me, he helped me to get inside my head, and gave me an inner monologue. As I was looking around, instead of telling me ‘Ok, look right, look left,’ he really stressed, ‘You see this backpack, are you going to go for it?’ He really helps you to have that thought process. The whole thing about acting is you need people to see that thought process.”

Sources: E! OnlineCelebuzz

Leave a Reply

